“Your talent is God’s gift to you. What you do with it is your gift back to God.”

This week I’m participating in leadership training to prepare for my role as a student leader in Campus Ministry.  We did an activity that helped us assess our strengths and had discussions based on our results.  We talked about how many programs encourage you to work on your weaknesses rather than identifying your strengths and emphasizing those.  Most people are hesitant to talk about their talents and gifts because they don’t want to seem like they are showing off or bragging.  This means that many of us have hidden gifts that we really should be sharing with others.  I’ll never forget a quote I discovered while participating in a service trip: “Your talent is God’s gift to you. What you do with it is your gift back to God.”  God gave us all certain gifts to make this world a better place.  If we hide those gifts, we are letting Him down.

My trip to Tanzania made it very clear that I wasn’t using my God given talent to its full potential; namely my talent for writing.  All the writing I did there caused my passion for it to be rekindled.  I realized with perfect clarity that writing is what God is calling me to do with my life.  When I returned home and heard my friends and family talk about how much they enjoyed reading this blog, it filled me with joy.  Hearing them express surprise over how well I can write was a real eye opener however.  These people who are supposed to know me so well; many of whom have known me for my whole life, didn’t know what I am most passionate about.  That’s when I made the decision to stop hiding my talent for writing. Sure, I’m scared that people will judge me based on my writing, because it is a very personal thing.  But God gave me this gift.  I need to thank Him by using it to glorify Him and spread His message of love to the world.

“Hide not your talents.  They for use were made.  What’s a sundial in the shade?” – Benjamin Franklin

5 thoughts on ““Your talent is God’s gift to you. What you do with it is your gift back to God.”

  1. Dawn

    Loved this.

    A thought came to while reading your concern people judging you based on what you write.

    Reality is, sweetie, people are going to judge you regardless. Based on your writing or anything else you are involved in.

    That is why we have to keep in mind it’s what God thinks of us that is most important.

    Sometimes the judgments and criticisms people make of us have some validate points worthy of our consideration and pondering.

    Many times those judgments are weak in anything constructive and instructive for our own growth. They have little to offer.

    We have to utilize discernment even when it comes to others judgments of us. Figure out, what has some validity, what does not.

    God will always help you out as you wade thru another’s judgment of you. And in the end, it’s His judgment that matters the most which is always mixed with a great deal of love and mercy.

    Love you. Have a great semester. See you around Thanksgiving
    Love,
    Dawn

  2. Pingback: Writer With a Cause

  3. Donald

    What can you say about a secular artist who writes and sings about something that is worthy… Songs about God, faith, about lessons learned, story-telling, experiences….anything that may not be a direct praise to God but songs that are pleasant and not displeasing to God….What can you say about this?

    1. prplcatz58

      Firstly, anything you do can be used as praise for God, if you do it with the right intention. Tying your shoe could be an act of praise. I think music is one of the most powerful ways to reach people’s hearts. It sounds like you’re singing about how God has worked in your life. Music touches people in all different ways, by simply making them happy or helping them put words to their emotions and experiences. There are plenty of secular artists who don’t label themselves as Christian, in order to reach a broader audience, and end up touching lives in a profound way. As long as you glorify God with everything you do (even if you’re not necessarily writing praise music) He will speak through you.

Leave a comment