A Plea from the Soapbox

We interrupt this creative programming for a very important message from our sponsor – The Soapbox.

Just get three jobs.

Just wait a couple of years.

Worker harder, you can do it on your own.

Everyone else has to deal with debt, why should you get off free and easy?

These, my friends, are the reactions of hardworking independent Americans to my problem of debt.  They are also the things the devil whispers to me daily, trying to drive me to despair.

So, it’s time to get up on my soap box and clear up a few things.  Firstly, I am not begging.  I have money to support myself and jobs that could allow me to pay off my loans eventually(good thing God is outside of time).  What I am doing is living out my vocation already. Oh that’s the second thing – this isn’t my vocation – it is Christ loving through me, inviting you to go deeper and deeper into His Heart.

So let’s take a look at the life He is calling me to live.  Religious life as a TOR involves living in trinitarian community, not making a personal income, and supporting one another.

So, in this time which is really a period of deep and intense preparation for that way of life, I should logically be engaging in things that are in line with that.  Therefore, putting my nose to the grindstone and working my butt off to try to pay my loans all by myself makes no sense.  If my debt is paid off, but my soul is in tatters, what good is that?

Most importantly, Jesus is calling me to lay down my life for you.  My life will consist of unceasing intercession for His people and offering of my suffering for the Body of Christ.  This is not to make you feel guilty, I just wish people understood what really goes on behind convent doors.  I will be a bride of Christ – united with Him as husband and wife.  And what is the marriage bed?  The cross.

If you don’t believe me, read about Saints like St. Faustina, St. Gemma, and St. Francis(of course) who suffered both physically and spiritually with Christ to “fill up what is lacking,” but also to make reparation for those who do not repent of their own sins.

I invite you to be a special part of this life God is calling me to and to live out your vocation of love.  Let us work together to build up the Body by offering our time, talent, money, and most importantly, ourselves, to one another as free gifts.

P.S. Oh boy, do I have more to say about this – including the Franciscan idea of the “privilege of poverty” and some great nuggets from Henri J.M. Nouwen.  For now, I’ll let you chew on this.  I also have exciting things to reveal about how God is asking me to fundraise!

 

Leave a Reply

