Is This Real Life? It’s Eternal Life!

I need to do more of this.

There seems to be an ongoing pattern in my life:  I freak out about not being in control of a situation and then a day or two later, everything falls into place in God’s perfect time.   Well the last time this happened was about a month and a half ago.  I was quickly approaching college graduation and I still had no idea what I was going to do with the next year.  One day this uncertainty got to me and I had a mini meltdown.  True to form, the next day I had to call Sister about something and she reminded me of God’s infinite care.  She told me that she had been brainstorming and asking around about opportunities for me.  One idea she had would be to set up an “affiliate” program, which would be like a year of service.  She was looking into getting Americorps funding through the Catholic Volunteer Network, which would go towards paying off my loans.

Since talking to her that day I hadn’t heard any updates(until Monday) and of course, don’t like being in the dark where I can’t control a situation.  I was about to break down and call her, but she got to me first.  It turns out that she can’t get the program set up in time, so I’m back to square one.  Because God knows I hate making decisions, he’s presented me with a few options.  Through a lot of prayer and weighing practicality, I’ve made the tough decision to stay at home.

Her bad news was dwarfed by what she told me next…I have the go ahead to finish the application process!  The Sisters had asked me to wait and I wasn’t sure when they were going to approve me to move on.  This means that I could potentially be accepted by October.  Which is great, because then I can apply for a grant from the Fund for Vocations.

Dear readers, do you know what this means?  It’s time to break out the big fundraising guns, to pull out all the stops, and man your rosaries.  I’m still planning on doing the marathon, so I’ll let you know how sponsorship is going to work.

Right after I talked to Sister and it sunk that I might actually be entering the convent in little over a year, the cheesy phrase, is this real life? seemed like the most appropriate reaction.  And of course what better place to put my thoughts than a facebook status?  Someone commented on it with simply: John 17:3.  I thought this was a curious reply and looked it up.  My friend is very wise and actually the entire chapter is pertinent to my situation.  It is the prayer of Jesus before he begins the long walk to Calvary.  He expresses a deep and intimate love for us, which leads to the ultimate sacrifice.

John 17:3 says: “Now this is eternal life: that they know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom you have sent.”  So not only is this real life, it’s eternal life!  And this the whole point of being a nun – to point towards heaven and live a life so others know God and Jesus.  The other part that particularly stuck out to me was: “Consecrate them in the truth. Your word is truth.  As you sent me into the world, so I sent them into the world.  And I consecrate myself for them, so that they also may be consecrated in truth.”

One thought on “Is This Real Life? It’s Eternal Life!

  1. Pingback: Eternal Life or mortal symbol « power of language blog: partnering with reality by JR Fibonacci

Leave a Reply

