Running the Race

As many of you know, I will hopefully be entering the convent in August 2013.  Before then, I need to pay off my student loans, which accumulate to about $25,000.  I figured out that I need to raise about $1,600 per month from now until then to be able to pay them off.  I’ll be launching a whole fundraising campaign (probably over Easter break) so be on the look out for more details on how you can help me out.  Also, I’d love to hear your ideas for creative fundraising.

Anyway, I’ve discovered one of the most popular ways to raise money for entering religious life is running a marathon.  At first I laughed at the idea because I’ve never run a day in my life.  Then I thought about it more and decided it might not be a terrible idea.  I keep saying I want to start exercising and I need a huge dose of discipline in my life – training for a marathon will help me achieve both of these things.  Running can also be meditative and prayerful (although I probably won’t feel that way about it at first).

So, I am stating this here so I can’t back down from it:  On October 13th I will be running in the ING Hartford half marathon.  Info will be up soon on how you can sponsor me.

The bible compares life to running a race several times, so I’m just taking it literally 🙂

“Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize.”  1 Corinthians 9:24

“let us run with endurance the race that is set before us” Hebrews 12:1

“I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.” 2 Timothy 4:7

I start training tomorrow so I’ll let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

