Soup Kitchen on Saturday Morning

“If you are here to help me, then you are wasting your time. But if you come because your liberation is bound up in mine, then let us begin.”

Lily Walker , an Australian aboriginal woman.

A counter is all that separates us.  Yet is seems like a vast chasm at times.  I look in his eyes and to my surprise, see myself.  What’s your story?  How did you end up on that side of the counter, and me on this one?  What really separates us?  My instinctive answer is: nothing.  We are the same, you and I.  We have both hungered.  We have both been lonely.  We have both felt hopeless at times.  We are both here.  I have a responsibility to you, and you have one to me.  Knowing your pain, how can I do nothing to help you?

These are the thoughts that ran through my head as I served food at the soup kitchen this morning.  My “motto” for life until recently has been:  To whom much is given, much is expected.  This way of thinking is slowly being converted though.  Now I see that, to whom much knowledge is given, much is expected.  If you know about an injustice, know about a neighbor’s problem, you have a responsibility to do something about it.  And if you don’t have the resources to do something about it, share your knowledge with someone who does.  Someone told me recently that the solution to ending poverty is to education the rich.  For many people, it is ignorance that stops them from helping others, not a lack of willingness to help.

So my goal, especially during my trip to Tanzania, is to gain knowledge so that I can accomplish all that is expected from me by the one who taught me how to serve by serving Himself.

Leave a Reply

