La Fe de Los Ninos

“Amen I say to you, unless you turn and become like children, you will not enter the kingdom of heaven.  Whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.  And whoever receives one child such as this in my name receives me.” – Matthew 18:3-5

Jesus told his disciples that to enter the Kingdom of Heaven they must be like children.  I had the chance to go to a Mass held in Spanish and the homily(which surprisingly I understood) centered on this idea- La fe de los ninos- the faith of children.  I think that as Christians having the innocent and trusting faith of children is so important.  Part of this is having a continual awe for the love of Jesus and the grand creation that God created for us.  Too often we forget the small delights of life and allow them to pass us by unnoticed.

Another beautiful thing about children is that they do not judge or discriminate; I know that as a child I made friends with everyone I met(much to my parents’ dismay).

Recently I found an activity I did in third grade in which I wrote a recipe for friendship.

It went something like this:

99,000 pounds of fun; 2 pounds of cheerfulness; 3 teaspoons of caring; 3 pounds of helpfulness; 2 gallons of excitement

Mix together all the ingredients and bake 10 minutes at 400 degrees.  Serve to all the people I don’t know.

What if we all served this kind of friendship to every person we met?  What would our world look like?  This is what it means to have the heart and soul of a child.

Leave a Reply

